County Commission

The Treutlen County Board of Commissioners meet on the first Monday of every month at 9:00 AM.  The meetings are held in the Conference Room of the Board of Commissioners Office, at 1830 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Soperton, GA 30457.

Treutlen County Lance HooksCommissioner Lance Hooks – Chairman, District 3 Email:


Treutlen County Cali HollisCommissioner Cali Hollis – Vice Chairman, District 1 Email:


Commissioner Phil Jennings , District 2


Joey PowellCommissioner Joey Powell, District 4 Email:

Joey Powell is a life-long resident of Treutlen County.  He is the retired Chief of Police for the City of Soperton Police Department, where he worked serving the community for most of his adult life.  He is a member of Harmony Lodge, of free and accepted Masons.  He is married to Tammie Wynette Powell and they have two children, Amy Lyles and Matthew Powell.  Joey is also a Deacon of Rosemont Baptist Church.


Treutlen Thalia GillisCommissioner Thalia Gillis, District 5 Email:

Thalia Strickland Gillis is a native of Soperton, and a graduate of Treutlen High School.  She has an Associate Degree from Brewton Parker College and a BA from Tift College. Thalia has worked with the public all of her adult life, she retired from Georgia State Government with 34 years of service.  She continues to serve the public by volunteering with a nonprofit. She is married to Leo Gillis, Jr. and they have three children, Kakethia, Thakeda and Tyris.  She is a member of First Baptist Church Soperton. She can be reached at 478- 494- 0254.


 James Garner,  County Attorney